Introduction to the Chakras

Have you ever heard of the chakras? Do you wonder what they are all about? Here’s a brief intro on these fantastic energy centers in our body.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. 

These are a system of seven energy centers located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioral characteristics, and stages of spiritual growth. In my case, I have integrated the Chakra system in my practice as an NLP, yoga & reiki practitioner, a certified aromatherapist, and a mindfulness and meditation teacher. 

Practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you align your chakras and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. In addition, trying to fine-tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body, and spirit. Also, subtle (or energetic) aromatherapy can help, as different essential oils affect the mind, body, and soul.

There are seven major chakras (there are still more, but we will concentrate on these first), each associated with a different part of the body along the spine, from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a color, a central emotional/behavioral issue, and many other personal aspects, including identity, goals, rights, etc.

The seven chakras are:
  • Muladhara or the root chakra 
  • Svadhisthana or the sacral chakra
  • Manipura or the solar plexus chakra
  • Anahata or the heart chakra (my favorite of them all – and my weakest and strongest link, too)
  • Vishuddha or the throat chakra
  • Ajna or the brow/third eye chakra; and
  • Sahasrara or the crown chakra


There are many ways to incorporate the lessons of the chakra in your daily life. In my personal experience and in what I teach, we use holistic practices from reiki to mindfulness and meditation, working with the elements, crystal healing, shadow work, forgiveness rituals, visualizations, yoga asanas, and the like.

If you are interested in digging deeper into them, join the YogAroma Soul Tribe on Facebook.

Hope to see you inside, loves!

Here’s a testimonial from one of the Batch 1 students of one of my Chakra masterclasses:

Thank you for introducing me to the world of chakras, meditation, crystals, and aromatherapy. 

I can’t help but share the cards I pulled today. It is telling me again to rest, be patient and things will fall in their places. It really sums up the things I need to manage that going through my mind.

I am also doing a gratitude journal and you are part of it.

Thank you for the classes and lessons you have given. You paved the way for me to learn more about myself and to try practices that will bring me enlightenment and joy.

Please continue to be a guide and light for all those women who need support as they journey through life. 

Rane Joguilon | Operations Head